The Partner Constituent Groups (PCG)s

The GAP structure is currently made up of 16 Partner Constituent Groups (PCGs). The original 13 groups were formed out of merging the Habitat Agenda Partners (Local Authorities; NGOs and CBOs; Trade Unions; Professionals; Academics and Researchers; Human Solidarity Groups; Indigenous People; Parliamentarians; Private Sector; Foundations; Financial Institutions; Youth; and Women) and the Agenda 21 Major Groups (Children & Youth; Business & Industry; Farmers; Indigenous Peoples; Local Authorities; Non-Governmental Organizations; Scientific & Technological Community; Women; and Workers & Trade Unions). Thereafter, three new groups applied to join the GAP and were approved by the Executive Committee: the Media, Older Persons, and Persons with Disabilities.

The Media was recognized as a constituency that could contribute a unique and informed voice to issues of urban sustainability and was recognized as a PCG as an outcome of the Urban Thinkers Campus held in Caserta, Italy in October 2014. After finding that their unique experience of cities and the needs of certain citizens were not fully incorporated under any existing PCGs, the Older Persons PCG was approved at the GAP Plenary meeting in Prague, Czech Republic in March 2016, and the Persons with Disabilities PCG was approved in Surabaya, Indonesia in July 2016. To date, no new PCG application has been denied.

For more detailed information about each individual Partner Constituent Group and who they represent, please visit each PCG's page below.

  1. Business and industries
  2. Children and youth
  3. Civil Society Organizations
  4. Farmers
  5. Foundations and philanthropies
  6. Grass roots organizations
  7. Indigenous people
  8. Local and sub-national authorities
  9. Media
  10. Older Persons
  11. Parliamentarians
  12. Persons with disabilities
  13. Professionals
  14. Trade Unions and workers
  15. Research and Academia
  16. Women